Project Team

Below are details of the EVO Team. Please feel free to contact us to discuss the work of the EVO pilot project.

EVO Leadership Team
The leadership team consisted of Prof Bridget Emmett of the Centre for Ecology & Hydrology (CEH), Prof Adrian MacDonald of the University of Leeds, and Prof Robert Gurney of the University of Reading.

Prof Emmett is a biogeochemist and ecosystem scientist and is also Head of the CEH Bangor Site. She is a member of the DEFRA test catchments Board, and Defra National Ecosystem Assessment Expert Panel. Prof MacDonald has extensive experience of working in environmental management, particularly in partnership with the water industry. Prof Gurney is a hydrologist with particular interests in applying Earth observation and other new technologies. He was the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) member of the Research Councils UK (RCUK) eScience Board.

Prof Bridget Emmett (Ecosystem science lead)
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Bangor
E-mail: bae@ceh.ac.uk

Prof Robert Gurney (Cloud computing and modelling lead)
Environmental Systems Science Centre, University of Reading
E-mail: r.j.gurney@reading.ac.uk

Prof Adrian McDonald (Industry science and application lead)
University of Leeds
E-mail: a.t.mcdonald@leeds.ac.uk

Full Project Team
The EVO team comprises of 18 scientists from 13 organisations.  They have a wide range of skills covering IT, modelling, data portals and standards, catchment science, hydrology, hydrogeology, modelling, soils, water quality and decision support tools.

Lucy Ball (Project Manager)
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Wallingford
E-mail: lball@ceh.ac.uk

Prof Keith Beven
The Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University
E-mail: k.beven@lancaster.ac.uk

Prof Gordon Blair (Co-leader Cloud Technologies work package)
Computing Department, Lancaster University
E-mail: gordon@comp.lancs.ac.uk

Dr John Bloomfield
BGS Wallingford
E-mail: jbp@bgs.ac.uk

Dr Roland Bol (Affiliated member)
Rothamstead Research, North Wyke Research Station
E-mail: roland.bol@bbsrc.ac.uk

Dr Wouter Buytaert (Leader Modelling work package)
Imperial College London
E-mail: w.buytaert@imperial.ac.uk

Julie Delve (Project officer)
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Lancaster
Email: jdelve@ceh.ac.uk

Prof Bridget Emmett (Project co-leader )
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Bangor
E-mail: bae@ceh.ac.uk

Dr Jim Freer (Leader National work package)
University of Bristol.
E-mail: jim.freer@bristol.ac.uk

Prof Robert Gurney (Project co-leader)
Environmental Systems Science Centre, University of Reading
E-mail: r.j.gurney@reading.ac.uk

Prof Phil Haygarth (Leader Local work package)
The Lancaster Environment Centre, Lancaster University
E-mail: p.haygarth@lancaster.ac.uk

Prof Penny Johnes
Aquatics Environment Research Centre, University of Reading
E-mail: p.j.johnes@reading.ac.uk

Prof Mark Macklin
Aberystwyth University
E-mail: mvm@aber.ac.uk

Dr CJA (Kit) Macleod
The James Hutton Institute
E-mail: k.macleod@macaulay.ac.uk

Prof Adrian McDonald (Project co-leader)
University of Leeds
E-mail: a.t.mcdonald@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Paul Quinn
Newcastle University
E-mail: p.f.quinn@ncl.ac.uk

Dr Sim Reaney
Durham University
E-mail: sim.reaney@durham.ac.uk

Mr Gwyn Rees (Co-leader Cloud Technologies work package)
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Wallingford
E-mail: hgrees@ceh.ac.uk

Dr Marc Stutter
The James Hutton Institute
E-mail: m.stutter@macaulay.ac.uk

Prof Doerthe Tetzlaff (Leader International work package)
University of Aberdeen
E-mail: d.tetzlaff@abdn.ac.uk

Bronwen Williams (Assistant Project Manager)
Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Bangor
E-mail: bpu@ceh.ac.uk